Polity Current Affairs

Indian Polity and Constitution Current Affairs, Important for competitive Exams.

“Election Commission announces dates for Karnataka Assembly Elections 2023 “

  1. Voting for the Karnataka assembly elections will be held on May 10, 2023, and the counting of votes will take place on May 13, 2023.
  2. The Election Commission is committed to holding free and fair elections in Karnataka and has given special focus to young voters, women, transgenders, and vulnerable tribal groups.
  3. The gazetted notification for the elections will be issued on April 13, 2023, and the last date of filing nominations is April 20, 2023.
  4. A total of 58,282 polling stations have been set up in Karnataka, with 24,063 stations in urban areas and 34,219 in rural areas.
  5. The total number of voters in Karnataka is 5.21 crore, of which 2.62 crore are male voters and 2.59 are female voters. The first-time voters in the state are over 9 lakh.
  6. The Bharatiya Janata Party won 104 seats, while the Congress got 80 seats and the JDS secured 37 in the previous Assembly elections held in 2018.

Question: What is the total number of polling stations set up in Karnataka for the 2023 Assembly Elections?
A) 58,263
B) 24,063
C) 34,219
D) 58,282

Answer: D) 58,282

Congress leader Rahul Gandhi has been sentenced to two years in prison by a Gujarat court.

  • The difficulties of Congress leader Rahul Gandhi are increasing continuously. On 23 March the Surat court sentenced Rahul Gandhi to two years in a defamation case, after which he also got bail from the court.
  • The court granted bail to Rahul Gandhi and stayed the sentence for 30 days so that he could appeal in a higher court during this period.
  • Rahul was found guilty of defamation in the 2019 case, in which he made controversial remarks regarding ‘Modi surname’.
  • After this decision, Rahul Gandhi’s membership of Parliament can also go from Wayanad parliamentary constituency.
  • According to The Representation of the People Act, 1951 (Public Representation Law-1951), if any public representative is punished for two years or more, then his membership can be cancelled. Recently, the membership of Azam Khan’s son Abdullah Azam Khan was also canceled under this law.

Aam Aadmi Party leader Shelly Oberoi was elected 1st Mayor of the Unified Municipal Corporation of Delhi.

  • Aam Aadmi Party leader Shelly Oberoi was elected as the Mayor of Delhi on 22nd February 2023.
  • Shelly Oberoi secured 150 votes defeating BJP candidate Rekha Gupta by 34 votes.
  • AAP candidate Aale Mohammad Iqbal was elected the new Deputy Mayor of Delhi by defeating BJP’s Kamal Bagri by a margin of 31 votes. Iqbal got 147 votes against Bagri’s 116.
  • Ms. Shelly Oberoi, a Delhi University teacher, is the 1st Mayor of the Unified Municipal Corporation of Delhi.

Former Union Minister and RJD leader Sharad Yadav passed away at 75

Former Union Minister and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader Sharad Yadav passed away on 12 January 2023. The 75-year-old veteran politician was ailing for sometime and breathed his last at a private hospital in Gurugram.

Sharad Yadav was a student leader of the seventies who fought for democratic values.

In his long years in public life, he distinguished himself as MP and Minister and he was greatly inspired by Dr. Lohia’s ideals.

Sharad Yadav served as a minister in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government in the late ’90s and the VP Singh government in 1989.

He was three-time member of Rajya Sabha, he was elected to the Lok Sabha seven times.

He was a founder-member of Bihar’s ruling Janata Dal United and also served as party president. He quit after Chief Minister Nitish Kumar ended the Grand Alliance and joined hands with the BJP.

In 2018, he launched his own party, the Loktantrik Janata Dal, but merged it with Lalu Yadav’s Rashtriya Janata Dal two years later.

Scroll to Top