Four Russian-controlled regions of Ukraine join Russian Federation

  • Russian President Vladimir Putin signed treaties on 30 September 2022 to begin the process of incorporating four Russian-controlled regions of Ukraine into the Russian Federation.
  • The four territories incorporated into Russia are Luhansk and Donetsk in the east, and Kherson and Zaporizhzhia in the South. Referendums were held in these four regions which saw a majority of people voting to join Russia.
  • In a televised ceremony in the Kremlin, the Russian President and the heads of the four regions put their names on treaty documents to join Russia.