G20 Summit

G20 Bali Summit 2022 :

The 2022 G20 Bali summit was the seventeenth meeting of Group of Twenty (G20), which was held in Nusa Dua, Bali, Indonesia on 15 to 16 November 2022. Under the Indonesian Presidency, the G20 in 2022 was focused on the theme ‘Recover Together, Recover Stronger’.

Three main pillars for its G20 2022 Presidency were namely :
Global Health Architecture
Sustainable Energy Transition
Digital Transformation

With the Bali summit ending on 16 November 2022, Indonesia handed over the G20 chairmanship to India for the year 2023. India will officially assume the presidency of the G20 from 1st December 2022.

The next summit will be held in New Delhi on 9 to10 September 2023.

G20 or Group of Twenty :

The G20 or Group of Twenty is an intergovernmental forum consisting of 19 countries and the European Union (EU). The 19 countries are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Germany, France, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Mexico, the Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, UK, US. G20 works to address key issues related to the global economy, such as international financial stability, climate change mitigation, and sustainable development.

The G20 was founded in 1999 in response to several world economic crises. Since 2008, it has convened at least once a year, with summits involving each member’s head of government or state, finance minister, or foreign minister, and other high-ranking officials, the EU is represented by the European Commission and the European Central Bank. Other countries, international organizations, and nongovernmental organizations are invited to attend the summits, some on a permanent basis.

MemberHead of StateHead of GovernmentRuling PartyFinance portfolioPortfolio ministerCentral bankCentral bank governor
 ArgentinaAlberto FernándezJusticialist PartyMinister of EconomySergio MassaCentral Bank of the Argentine RepublicMiguel Ángel Pesce
 AustraliaCharles IIIAnthony AlbaneseAustralian Labor PartyTreasurerJim ChalmersReserve Bank of AustraliaPhilip Lowe
 BrazilJair BolsonaroLiberal PartyMinister of EconomyPaulo GuedesCentral Bank of BrazilRoberto Campos Neto
 CanadaCharles IIIJustin TrudeauLiberal Party of CanadaMinister of FinanceChrystia FreelandBank of CanadaTiff Macklem
 ChinaXi JinpingLi Keqiang[d]Chinese Communist PartyMinister of FinanceLiu KunPeople’s Bank of ChinaYi Gang
 FranceEmmanuel MacronÉlisabeth BorneRenaissanceMinister of the EconomyBruno Le MaireBank of FranceFrançois Villeroy de Galhau
 GermanyFrank-Walter SteinmeierOlaf ScholzSocial Democratic Party of GermanyMinister of FinanceChristian LindnerDeutsche BundesbankJoachim Nagel
 IndiaDroupadi MurmuNarendra ModiBharatiya Janata PartyMinister of FinanceNirmala SitharamanReserve Bank of IndiaShaktikanta Das
 IndonesiaJoko WidodoIndonesian Democratic Party of StruggleMinister of FinanceSri MulyaniBank IndonesiaPerry Warjiyo
 ItalySergio MattarellaGiorgia MeloniBrothers of ItalyMinister of Economy and FinanceGiancarlo GiorgettiBank of ItalyIgnazio Visco
 JapanNaruhitoFumio KishidaLiberal Democratic PartyMinister of FinanceShunichi SuzukiBank of JapanHaruhiko Kuroda
 MexicoAndrés Manuel López ObradorNational Regeneration MovementSecretary of Finance and Public CreditRogelio Ramírez de la OBank of MexicoVictoria Rodríguez Ceja 
 South KoreaYoon Suk-yeolPeople Power PartyMinister of Economy and FinanceChoo Kyung-hoBank of KoreaRhee Chang-yong
 RussiaVladimir PutinMikhail MishustinUnited RussiaMinister of FinanceAnton SiluanovBank of RussiaElvira Nabiullina
 Saudi ArabiaSalmanMohammed bin SalmanNoneMinister of FinanceMohammed Al-JadaanSaudi Central BankFahad Almubarak
 South AfricaCyril RamaphosaAfrican National CongressMinister of FinanceEnoch GodongwanaSouth African Reserve BankLesetja Kganyago
 TurkeyRecep Tayyip ErdoğanJustice and Development PartyMinister of Treasury and FinanceNureddin NebatiCentral Bank of the Republic of TurkeyŞahap Kavcıoğlu
 United KingdomCharles IIIRishi SunakConservative and Unionist PartyChancellor of the ExchequerJeremy HuntBank of EnglandAndrew Bailey
 United StatesJoe BidenDemocratic PartySecretary of the TreasuryJanet YellenFederal ReserveJerome Powell
 European UnionCharles MichelUrsula von der LeyenAlliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe PartyEuropean People’s PartyCommissioner for EconomyPaolo GentiloniEuropean Central BankChristine Lagarde
Scroll to Top