Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva was sworn in as the 39th President of Brazil.

  • Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva was sworn in as 39th President of Brazil on 1st January in the capital of Brasilia to assume the office for the third time.
  • The veteran leftist politician, widely known as Lula, also led the country between 2003 and 2010.
  • He defeated right-wing Jair Bolsonaro in a runoff election in October, receiving 50.9% of the vote to his opponent’s 49.1%.
Scroll to Top