Mohammad Shahabuddin was elected the President of Bangladesh.

  • According to the notification issued by the Election Commission of Bangladesh on 13th February, Mohammad Shahabuddin will be the next President of Bangladesh.
  • The ruling Awami League nominated retired judge, anti-corruption commission commissioner and freedom fighter Mohammad Shahabuddin. No other party or individual filed nomination for the post.
  • Mohammad Shahabuddin was born in 1949 in Pabna. He participated in the Liberation War of Bangladesh in 1971. After the assassination of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman along with most of his family members on 15 August 1975, Mohammad Shahabuddin was imprisoned for several years. He is a member of the Awami League Advisory Council.
  • The term of current President Abdul Hamid ends on 23rd April. He served as the President for two consecutive terms of five years. The Constitution of Bangladesh does not allow any person to hold the presidency for more than two terms.
Scroll to Top