Padma Awards 2023 announced

  • Padma Awards – one of the highest civilian awards of the country, are conferred in three categories, namely Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.
  • The awards are given in various disciplines/fields of activities, such as – arts, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc.
  • ‘Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; ‘Padma Bhushan’ for distinguished service of high order and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field.
  • The awards are announced every year on the occasion of Republic Day. These awards are presented by the President of India at formal functions usually held at Rashtrapati Bhavan around March/April every year.
  • The list includes 6 Padma Vibhushan, 9 Padma Bhushan and 91 Padma Shri awardees.

Padma Vibhushan :

 1Shri Balkrishna Doshi (Posthumous)Others – ArchitectureGujarat
 2Shri Zakir HussainArtMaharashtra
 3Shri S M KrishnaPublic AffairsKarnataka
 4Shri Dilip Mahalanabis (Posthumous)MedicineWest Bengal
 5Shri Srinivas VaradhanScience & EngineeringUnited States of America
 6Shri Mulayam Singh Yadav (Posthumous)Public AffairsUttar Pradesh

Padma Bhushan :

 7Shri S L BhyrappaLiterature & EducationKarnataka
 8Shri Kumar Mangalam BirlaTrade & IndustryMaharashtra
 9Shri Deepak DharScience & EngineeringMaharashtra
 10Ms. Vani JairamArtTamil Nadu
 11Swami Chinna JeeyarOthers – SpiritualismTelangana
12 Ms. Suman KalyanpurArtMaharashtra
 13Shri Kapil KapoorLiterature & EducationDelhi
 14Ms. Sudha MurtySocial WorkKarnataka
 15Shri Kamlesh D PatelOthers – SpiritualismTelangana
Scroll to Top