Ram Sahay Prasad Yadav was elected the third Vice President of Nepal.

  • Janata Samajwadi Party leader Ram Sahai Prasad Yadav has been elected as the third Vice President of Nepal.
  • In the 17 March polls, Yadav defeated Astalakshmi Shakya of the CPN (UML) and Mamata Jha of the Janmat Party. He was supported by the ruling coalition, including the Nepali Congress, the CPN (Maoist Centre), and the CPN (Unified Socialist).
  • A total of 311 federal MPs and 518 provincial assembly members participated in the vote. A polling station for the election was set up at the Federal Parliament Building at New Baneshwar in Kathmandu.
  • According to the Constitution, the Vice President can perform the duties of the President during his absence. The term of the Vice President is five years from the date of his election.
  • Ram Sahay Prasad Yadav was a former Minister of Forest and Environment and a member of the first federal parliament of Nepal. In the 2017 Nepalese general election, he was elected from the Bara 2 constituency.
Scroll to Top