President Droupadi Murmu Presents National Geoscience Awards-2022

President Droupadi Murmu presented the National Geoscience Awards-2022 on 24 July in New Delhi, honoring individuals and teams for achievements in geosciences.

  1. Twenty-two geoscientists, including two women, were awarded at the ceremony.
  2. Geoscience includes the study of natural disasters like landslides, earthquakes, floods, and tsunamis, which are called Public Good Geosciences due to their value in protecting people.
  3. Mining plays a vital role in India’s economy, and recent progressive changes in the sector have improved its capacity and productivity.
  4. The President encouraged human-centric mining and appreciated Indian geoscientists for contributing to the efficient use of minerals.
  5. There is a focus on minerals like Rare Earth Elements, Platinum Group of Elements, and Semiconducting Elements, while considering environmental protection.
  6. Dr. Om Narain Bhargava received the National Geoscience Award for Lifetime Achievement for his pioneering work in the Himalayas.
  7. Dr. Amiya Kumar Samal was presented with the National Young Geoscientist Award for his significant contributions to understanding the lithospheric mantle below different Archean cratons of the Indian shield.

Q.: Who received the National Geoscience Award 2022 for Lifetime Achievement ?

A) Dr. Om Narain Bhargava
B) Dr. Amiya Kumar Samal
C) President Droupadi Murmu
D) Banaras Hindu University

Answer: A) Dr. Om Narain Bhargava

Exit mobile version