Sports Current Affairs

National and International Sports updates,  Important for Competitive Exams.

India won titles in both men’s & women’s section of the Asian Kho-Kho Championship in Tamulpur, Assam.

  • India has won both the women’s and men’s titles of the Asian Kho-Kho Championship held at Tamulpur, Assam.
  • In the women’s section, India beat Nepal by an innings and 33 points.
  • In the men’s section too, India won the title by defeating Nepal by an innings and six points.
  • India has been unbeaten in both the categories in the championship. Nine countries participated in the competition.
  • Speaker of the Assam Legislative Assembly Biswajit Daimary and Minister U G Brahma distributed the prizes to the winners.

India won one silver and one bronze medal in the ISSF World Cup Championships.

  • India won a silver and a bronze medal on the second day of the International Shooting Sport Federation (ISSF) World Cup Shooting Championships in Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh.
  • China retained its top position by winning two gold medals.
  • India’s Varun Tomar and Rhythm Sangwan won the silver medal in the 10m Air Rifle Mixed Team event. Earlier in the same event, world champion Rudraksh Patil and Raju Narmada Nitin won bronze medals.
  • India has secured a total of three medals including one gold, one silver and one bronze.
  • China topped the medal tally with three gold and two bronze medals.

Australia beat India by 21 runs in the third and final ODI.

  • Australia defeated India by 21 runs in the third and final ODI cricket match at Chennai on 22 March.
  • Australia had given India a target of 270 runs to win but the Indian team was all out for 248 runs in 49 overs and one ball.
  • Virat Kohli top-scored with 54 while Hardik Pandya played a valiant knock of 40. With this victory, Australia has won the series 2-1.
  • Batting first, the Australian team was all out for 269 runs in 49 overs. Adam Zampa was declared Player of the Match and Mitchell Marsh was declared Player of the Series.

India’s Sarabjot Singh won the gold medal in the men’s 10m air pistol event at the ISSF Rifle and Pistol World Cup.

  • India’s Sarabjot Singh won the gold medal in the men’s 10m air pistol event while Varun Tomar won the bronze medal at the ISSF Rifle and Pistol World Cup in Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh on 22 March.
  • In the women’s 10m air pistol event, China’s Li Xu won gold while Germany’s Doreen Wennekamp settled for silver. Qian Wei of China completed the podium with the bronze medal.
  • The ISSF World Shooting Championships are administered by the International Shooting Sport Federation. These championships, including all ISSF shooting events, are held every four years since 1954.

Rae Bareli’s stadium will be named after Indian women’s hockey player Rani Rampal.

  • Indian Railways’ modern Coach Factory Stadium in Rae Bareli has been renamed as Rani’s Girls Hockey Turf, named after the former captain of the Indian women’s hockey team, Rani Rampal.
  • With this, Rani became the first Indian woman hockey player to have a stadium named after her.
  • Rani Rampal has played over 250 international matches for India since her debut in 2009.
  • Rani was part of India’s 2017 Women’s Asian Cup title-winning team and led the Indian women’s hockey team to a historic fourth-place finish at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics.
  • Rani Rampal was the winner of the Padma Shri in 2020. Rampal was the first India from India to be named World Games Athlete of The Year 2019. She has also been the recipient of the Arjuna Award in 2016.

2023 Swiss Open Badminton tournament began in Basel, Switzerland.

  • The 2023 Swiss Open badminton tournament began on 21 March in Basel, Switzerland. The tournament will be played till 26 March.
  • Swiss Open 2023 is the eighth edition of BWF World Tour.
  • Indian shuttler PV Sindhu will open her campaign against local wildcard Jenjira Stadelman on 22 March.
  • In men’s singles, HS Prannoy will take on Shi Yu Qi of China in his first round match on 22 March. Whereas, Lakshya Sen will take on Lee Cheuk Yiu of Hong Kong and former silver medalist Kidambi Srikanth will take on China’s Weng Hong Yang in their first round matches.

Rohan Bopanna has become the oldest tennis player to win the ATP Masters 1000 title.

  • India’s Rohan Bopanna became the oldest tennis player to win an ATP Masters 1000 title when he won the men’s doubles title at the Indian Wells Masters 2023 tournament in California on 18 March with Australian partner Matthew Ebden.
  • Rohan Bopanna, 43, and Mathieu Ebden, 35, won the BNP Paribas Open trophy after defeating Wesley Koolhof of Netherlands and Neil Skupski of Britain 6-3, 2-6, 10-8 in the final.
  • Prior to Bopanna, Canadian Daniel Nestor was the oldest player to win an ATP Masters 1000 title after winning the 2015 Cincinnati Masters at the age of 42.
  • Bopanna, a former world No. 3 in men’s doubles, was ranked 15th in the ATP doubles rankings before the tournament. After winning the Indian Wells Masters, he has reached the 11th position in the live doubles tennis rankings.

ISSF World Cup Shooting Championship will begin in Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh.

  • The International Shooting Sports Federation- ISSF World Cup Shooting Championship is being organized in Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh till 27 March.
  • Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan will formally inaugurate this program on 21 March. The competitions will begin on 22 March at the Madhya Pradesh State Shooting Academy.
  • Around 325 shooters from 33 countries and more than 75 technical officials will participate in the World Cup Shooting Championship.
  • The championship is being organized in collaboration with the Government of Madhya Pradesh and Rifle Federation of India. It is the 8th World Cup to be held in India and the first international shooting tournament to be held outside New Delhi.

India’s Akshdeep Singh won the gold medal, Priyanka Goswami won the bronze medal in the Asian 20km Race Walking Championships 2023.

  • In Men’s India’s Akshdeep Singh won gold medal, and women’s categories Priyanka Goswami won bronze medal in the Asian 20 km Race Walking Championships 2023 held in Nomi, Japan on 19 February 2023.
  • In the men’s 20km race walk event, national record holder Akshdeep Singh topped the podium with a timing of 1:20:57. The athlete from Punjab won India’s second gold medal after Olympian Gurmeet Singh in 2016.
  • In the men’s event, South Korea’s Cho Byeongkwang finished second in 1:21:20 while China’s Wen Yongjie took the bronze in 1:22:44.
  • Commonwealth Games 2022 silver medalist Priyanka Goswami, meanwhile, clocked 1:32:27 in the women’s event.
  • China’s Lan Gao won the gold medal with a timing of 1:29:25. Ayane Yanai of Japan finished second with a timing of 1:0:58.

India defeated Australia by 5 wickets in the first ODI played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

  • India defeated Australia by 5 wickets in the first ODI of the three-match series at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on 17 March.
  • With the help of KL Rahul’s 75 runs, the hosts achieved the target in 39.5 overs.
  • Earlier, India won the toss and gave Australia a chance to bat first. The entire Australian team was all out for 188 runs in 35.4 overs.
  • Mitchell Marsh scored 81 runs for the visiting team. Mohammad Shami and Mohammad Siraj took 3-3 wickets for the Indian team.
17th March 2023India vs Australia, 1st ODIWankhede Stadium (Mumbai)
19th March 2023India vs Australia, 2nd ODIDr. YS. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium (Visakhapatnam)
22nd March 2023India vs Australia, 3rd ODIMA Chidambaram Stadium (Chennai)