Lawrence Wong sworn in as the Singapore Prime Minister

Singapore’s deputy leader Lawrence Wong was sworn in as the nation’s fourth Prime Minister on 15 May 2024. Fifty-one-year-old Wong succeeds 72-year-old Lee Hsien Loong, who stepped down after two decades at the helm.

Lee’s resignation marked the end of a family dynasty led by his father Lee Kuan Yew, Singapore’s charismatic first leader who transformed the colonial trading outpost into a business-friendly, affluent country during 31 years in office.

Since becoming an independent nation in 1965, Singapore has only had three Prime Ministers, all from the ruling People’s Action Party.

Q: Who was sworn in as Singapore’s fourth Prime Minister on 15 May 2024?

A) Lee Hsien Loong
B) Lawrence Wong
C) Lee Kuan Yew
D) Halimah Yacob

Ans : B) Lawrence Wong

Exit mobile version