Chaudhary Charan Singh, PV Narasimha Rao and MS Swaminathan to be conferred Bharat Ratna

Former Prime Minister Chaudhary Charan Singh, former Prime Minister P V Narasimha Rao, and agricultural scientist Dr. MS Swaminathan will be conferred with the country’s highest civilian award Bharat Ratna, Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced on 9 February 2024.

  1. Chaudhary Charan Singh:
    • Role: Former Prime Minister of India, freedom fighter, and farmers’ leader.
    • Contributions:
      • Served as the third Deputy Prime Minister and the fifth Prime Minister of India.
      • Held positions such as Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh and Union Minister for Home Affairs and Finance.
    • Legacy:
      • His incomparable contribution to the country is acknowledged through this award.
  1. Pamulaparthi Venkata Narasimha Rao (PV Narasimha Rao):
    • Role: Ninth Prime Minister of India (1991–1996).
    • Achievements:
      • Economic Reforms: Credited with opening up the Indian economy during his term.
      • Historic First: The first person from South India to become Prime Minister of India.
      • Father of Economic Reforms: Described by former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh as the true father of economic reforms in India.
  1. Dr. MS Swaminathan:
    • Role: Eminent agricultural scientist and the father of India’s Green Revolution.
    • Contributions:
      • Collaborated with Norman Borlaug and spearheaded a mass movement with farmers and other scientists.
      • Backed by public policies, he saved India and Pakistan from certain famine-like conditions in the 1960s.
      • Instrumental in achieving self-reliance in agriculture and modernizing farming practices.

Q: Which Indian Prime Minister, also having served as Deputy Prime Minister, Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, and Union Minister for Home Affairs and Finance?

  • a) P V Narasimha Rao
  • b) Dr. MS Swaminathan
  • c) Chaudhary Charan Singh
  • d) Narendra Modi

Ans : c) Chaudhary Charan Singh

Q: Which Prime Minister is credited with opening up the Indian economy during his term ?

a) Chaudhary Charan Singh
b) P V Narasimha Rao
c) Dr. MS Swaminathan
d) Narendra Modi

Ans : b) P V Narasimha Rao

Q: Who is referred to as the “Father of India’s Green Revolution” ?

a) Chaudhary Charan Singh
b) P V Narasimha Rao
c) Dr. MS Swaminathan
d) Norman Borlaug

Ans : c) Dr. MS Swaminathan

Scroll to Top