Ajit Agarkar Appointed Chairman of Senior Men’s Cricket Selection Committee

Former Indian pacer Ajit Agarkar was appointed as the Chairman of Senior Men’s Selection Committee by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on 4 July 2023. The Selection committee includes Ajit Agarkar, Shiv Sundar Das, Subroto Banerjee, Salil Ankola, and Sridharan Sharath. Agarkar, was made chairperson based on seniority which considers the total number of Test matches played.

Agarkar, a former India all-rounder, had an impressive cricket career, representing the country in 26 Tests, 191 ODIs, and four T20Is. He played a significant number of matches across various formats. Notably, he was part of India’s victorious T20 World Cup squad in 2007. Agarkar still holds the record for the fastest half-century by an Indian batter in ODIs, achieved in just 21 balls against Zimbabwe in 2000. He was also the fastest to reach 50 ODI wickets for almost a decade, achieving the milestone in only 23 matches.

Q.: Which former cricketer has been appointed as the chairman of the Senior Men’s Cricket Selection Committee?

A) Salil Ankola
B) Shiv Sundar Das
C) Subroto Banerjee
D) Ajit Agarkar

Answer: D) Ajit Agarkar

Scroll to Top