BNCAP: Enhancing Car Safety in India through New Rating System

Bharat New Car Assessment Programme (BNCAP) is a car safety rating system for passenger cars in India launched by Union minister of road transport and highways Nitin Gadkari on August 22, 2023. BNCAP is based on the international standard called the Global New Car Assessment Programme (GNCAP), which assesses the crashworthiness of vehicles.

  1. Car safety ratings in BNCAP will range from 1 to 5 stars, reflecting performance in crash tests that evaluate the impact on occupants and pedestrians during collisions.
  2. The primary objective of BNCAP is to enhance the safety standards of cars in India, a country with a high rate of road fatalities.
  3. BNCAP also intends to empower consumers to make informed decisions about the safety features of the cars they purchase.
  4. Implementation of BNCAP is scheduled to start from October 1, 2023, covering all new car models sold in India.

Q.: What does BNCAP stand for?

a) Bureau of New Car Assessment Programme
b) Bharat National Car Approval Protocol
c) Best New Car Assessment Program
d) Bharat New Car Assessment Programme

Ans :d) Bharat New Car Assessment Programme

Scroll to Top