Dr Manoj Soni Sworn in as Chairman of Union Public Service Commission (UPSC)

Dr Manoj Soni, who previously served as a Member of the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC), has taken the Oath of Office and Secrecy as the Chairman of UPSC on 16 May 2023. The oath was administered by Smt. Smita Nagaraj, the senior-most Member of the Commission.

Dr Manoj Soni joined the UPSC as a Member on June 28, 2017. Later, on April 5, 2022, he was appointed to act as the Chairman of UPSC under Article 316 (A) of the Constitution of India.

Before joining UPSC, Dr Soni pursued studies in Political Science with a specialization in International Relation Studies. He obtained his doctorate in “Post-Cold War International Systemic Transition and Indo-US Relations” from Sardar Patel University. Dr Soni has an impressive academic background and served as Vice-Chancellor of the M.S. University of Baroda for one term and Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar Open University, Gujarat for two terms. He holds the distinction of being the youngest-ever Vice-Chancellor in independent India. Dr Soni has received various accolades and awards and has made significant contributions through his published works.

Q.: Who is the Chairman of Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) ?
a) Dr Manoj Soni
b) Smt. Smita Nagaraj
c) Dr. Om Nagpal
d) Dr. S.R. Hashim

Answer: Dr Manoj Soni

Scroll to Top