MEA celebrated Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) Day on 15 June 2023

The Ministry of External Affairs celebrated Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) Day in Delhi under India’s chairmanship on 15 June 2023. Ambassadors of SCO Member States, observers, and dialogue partners participated in the event. A commemorative postage stamp was released by the Secretary (ER) of External Affairs Ministry, Dammu Ravi, and Secretary (Posts) Vineet Pandey. The upcoming Summit of the SCO Council of Heads of State will be held virtually on the 4th of next month.

What is Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO)

The Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) is an intergovernmental organization founded in 2001. It is comprised of eight member states: China, Russia, India, Pakistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. The SCO aims to enhance regional cooperation and promote stability and development in its member countries.

History of the SCO

Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) was proclaimed on June 15, 2001 in Shanghai (China) by the Republic of Kazakhstan, the People’s Republic of China, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Russian Federation, the Republic of Tajikistan and the Republic of Uzbekistan.

Question: How many member states are part of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO)?
A) 4
B) 6
C) 8
D) 10

Ans : C) 8

Scroll to Top