Mumbai win Ranji Trophy title of the 2023-24 season

Mumbai clinched their 42nd Ranji Trophy title on March 14, 2024, defeating Vidarbha by 169 runs in the final match of the 2023-24 season.

  1. Vidarbha, chasing a daunting target of 538 runs, showcased resilience with skipper Akshay Wadkar scoring a century. However, Mumbai’s spinners eventually bundled them out for 368.
  2. Despite a solid fightback from Vidarbha’s batsmen, including a fifty from Dubey and a century from Wadkar, Mumbai’s Tanush Kotian turned the game in his team’s favor by breaking crucial partnerships.
  3. Kotian’s impressive bowling performance, including 4 wickets for 95 runs, guided Mumbai to victory in the second innings.
  4. In the first innings, Shardul Thakur (75) and Prithvi Shaw (46) played pivotal roles in propelling Mumbai to a score of 224, while Vidarbha struggled, being bowled out for 105.
  5. Mumbai’s Musheer Khan (136) and Shreyas Iyer (95) showcased exceptional batting performances in the second innings, setting up a formidable target for Vidarbha.
  6. Harsh Dubey led Vidarbha’s bowling attack with five wickets, but it wasn’t enough to prevent Mumbai’s victory.
  7. This victory marks Mumbai’s first Ranji Trophy win since the 2015-16 season, breaking a streak where other teams like Gujarat, Vidarbha (twice), Saurashtra (twice), and Madhya Pradesh claimed the title.

Q: Which team won the Ranji Trophy of the 2023-24 season?

a) Vidarbha
b) Mumbai
c) Saurashtra
d) Gujarat

Ans : b) Mumbai

Scroll to Top