Prabha Varma Selected For Saraswati Samman For The Year 2023 for his Malayalam language poetry work, Roudra Sathwikam

Prabha Varma, the celebrated poet and litterateur, has been honored with the prestigious Saraswati Samman for 2023 for his Malayalam language poetry work, Roudra Sathwikam and also for his contribution to the literature during the period 2013 to 2022.

About Prabha Varma

Born in Thiruvalla, Kerala, in 1959, Prabha Varma has made significant contributions as a bilingual writer, excelling in both Malayalam and English literature. His work beautifully weaves together tradition and modernity, making him one of the most influential voices in contemporary Malayalam literature.

Prabha Varma has authored more than 30 books, including collections of poems, novels in verse, sociopolitical commentaries, and essays. His literary prowess has garnered him over 70 awards, including the National Sahitya Akademi Award and the National Film Award.

About Roudra Sathwikam

His novel “Roudra Sathwikam”, published in 2022, delves into the intricate conflict between power, politics, and individual morality. Written in poetic verse, it transcends time and space, addressing the eternal struggle of dharma (righteousness) versus adharma (wrongdoing) in a creatively philosophical manner.

About Saraswati Samman

The Saraswati Samman, instituted in 1991, recognizes outstanding literary works written in any Indian language by Indian citizens and published within the last 10 years. Prabha Varma’s achievement is marked by a citation, a plaque, and a cash prize of ₹15 lakh. The selection committee, currently led by former Supreme Court judge Justice Arjan Kumar Sikri, carefully chooses the recipient each year.

Q: What prestigious award was Prabha Varma honored ?

A) Jnanpith Award
B) Saraswati Samman
C) Sahitya Akademi Award
D) Padma Bhushan

Answer: B) Saraswati Samman

Q: Which novel by Prabha Varma received the Saraswati Samman?

A) “Roudra Sathwikam”
B) “Malayalam Musings”
C) “Verse Chronicles”
D) “Eternal Echoes”

Answer: A) “Roudra Sathwikam”

Scroll to Top