Recep Tayyip Erdoğan wins Turkish presidential election.

  • In Turkey, the Turkish Supreme Election Council has officially declared Recep Tayyip Erdogan the winner of the presidential election with 52.18% of the vote.
  • Erdogan was re-elected as president in runoff elections, where he contested against Kemal Kilikdaroglu, 74, the presidential candidate of the center-left Republican People’s Party (CHP) of Turkey’s opposition bloc. Kilicdaroglu got 47.82% of the vote.
  • The presidential race took place on 28th May after no candidate received more than 50% of the vote in the 14th May election.
  • Erdogan will swear in parliament on 3rd June and then announce his new cabinet.

Qns : Who has been declared the winner of the Turkish presidential election?

A) Mustafa Kemal Atatürk
B) Recep Tayyip Erdogan
C) Ahmet Davutoglu
D) Abdullah Gul

Ans : B) Recep Tayyip Erdogan

Scroll to Top