Sahitya Akademi Award 2023 announced

Sahitya Akademi announced its annual awards for 2023 on December 20.

  1. Awards were given in 24 languages, covering nine poetry books, six novels, five short story collections, three essays, and one literary study.
  2. Notable winners include Rajasekaran for the novel “Neervazhi Padooum” (Tamil), Patanjali Sastry for the short story collection (Telugu), and EV Ramakrishnan for the literary study “Malayala Novelinte Deshakalangal” (Malayalam).
  3. Poetry award recipients include Vijay Verma (Dogri), Vinod Joshi (Gujarati), and Ashutosh Parida (Odia).
  4. Short story award winners are Pranavjyoti Deka (Assamese), Nandeswar Daimary (Bodo), and Taraceen Baskey (Santali).
  5. Sanjeev won the award for the Hindi novel “Mujhe Pahachaano,” and Neelam Saran Gour for the English novel “Requiem in Raga Janki.”
  6. The awards ceremony, including a casket, an engraved copper-plaque, a shawl, and one lakh rupees, will take place on March 12 next year.
  7. Eligible books were those published between January 2017 and December 31, 2021.


  1. Which category did EV Ramakrishnan win the Sahitya Akademi Award for in 2023?
    • A) Novel
    • B) Short Story Collection
    • C) Literary Study
    • D) Poetry
  2. In which language did Rajasekaran win the award for his novel “Neervazhi Padooum”?
    • A) Telugu
    • B) Tamil
    • C) Malayalam
    • D) Kannada
  3. Who won the Sahitya Akademi Award for the Hindi novel “Mujhe Pahachaano”?
    • A) Sanjeev
    • B) Vijay Verma
    • C) Neelam Saran Gour
    • D) Vinod Joshi
Scroll to Top