Assembly Elections ; MP – Single Phase -Around 72 % voter turnout ; Chhattisgarh – final phase- Over 68 % voting in polls

Voting for 230 assembly seats of Madhya Pradesh Assembly and 70 assembly seats of Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections (Second Phase): conducted peacefully on November 17, 2023.

Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections:

  • Voting for 230 assembly seats conducted peacefully on November 17, 2023.
  • Over 72 percent voter turnout reported across the state.
  • Naxal-affected Balaghat district and some polling stations in Mandla and Dindori saw peaceful voting until 3 pm.
  • A total of 2,533 candidates contested, with the highest voting (85.49 percent) in Sailana constituency and the lowest (50.41 percent) in Bhind assembly constituency.
  • Varied voter turnout reported in different districts: 59 percent in Bhopal, 66 percent in Jabalpur, 61 percent in Gwalior, 65 percent in Indore, and over 80 percent in Neemuch, Rajgarh, Ratlam, Seoni, and Shajapur districts.
  • Decorative arrangements and innovations by the Election Commission noted, with a positive voter response.
  • No untoward incidents reported at more than 64 thousand polling stations.
  • Notable leaders, including Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and others, await the counting of votes on December 3.

Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections (Second Phase):

  • Voting for 70 assembly seats completed peacefully with sporadic incidents.
  • Over 68 percent voter turnout recorded until 5 pm.
  • Highest turnout (82 percent) in Kurud assembly constituency, and the lowest (52 percent) in Raipur South (final figures awaited).
  • About 1 percent of cases of technical faults in machines reported and quickly resolved during voting.
  • Security force soldier martyred in a blast caused by Maoists during the return of the polling party from Bindranavagarh assembly constituency in Gariaband district.
  • A total of 959 candidates, including 130 women, contested in the second phase.
  • Prominent candidates include Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel, Assembly Speaker Dr. Charandas Mahant, Deputy Chief Minister T.S. Singh Dev, Home Minister Tamradhwaj Sahu, and others.
  • The fate of all candidates will be determined on December 3 during the counting of votes.

Q.: Which constituency recorded the highest voter turnout in the second phase of Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections?

  • A) Kurud
  • B) Raipur South
  • C) Patan
  • D) Sakti

Ans : A) Kurud – Highest turnout (82 percent) in Kurud assembly constituency

Scroll to Top