Uttar Pradesh announces two-phase urban local body polls to be held in May

  1. The urban local body polls in Uttar Pradesh will be held in two phases on May 4 and May 11 2023.
  2. The counting of votes will take place on May 13.
  3. The first phase of voting will cover 37 districts in nine administrative divisions, including Agra, Jhansi, Saharanpur, Moradabad, Prayagraj, Lucknow, Varanasi, Devipatan and Gorakhpur.
  4. The second phase of voting will be held in Chitrakoot, Ayodhya, Basti, Azamgarh, Meerut, Bareilly, Aligarh, Kanpur, and Mirzapur administrative divisions.
  5. The elections will take place across 760 urban local bodies, including 17 mayoral seats and 1,420 councillor posts.
  6. Uttar Pradesh is politically the most crucial state in the country and has 80 members in the Lok Sabha.
  7. The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Samajwadi Party (SP) have deputed senior leaders in districts to oversee the party’s preparation for the elections.
  8. The urban body polls in Uttar Pradesh are taking place after the Supreme Court allowed the State Election Commission to issue a notification in two days, with an OBC quota in line with the report of the recently constituted Uttar Pradesh Backward Classes Commission.

Question: How many urban local bodies will go to polls in Uttar Pradesh?
a) 560
b) 760
c) 960
Answer: b) 760

Exit mobile version